Willows Historic Palm Springs Inn | Bed & Breakfast in 412 W Tahquitz Canyon Way - Palm Springs CA - Reviews - Photos - Phone Number
Edit

Willows Historic Palm Springs Inn

4.9
289 reviews
(Bed & Breakfast)
 412 W Tahquitz Canyon Way, Palm Springs, CA 92262

Is this your business?

You can claim this profile as a part of the BirdEye suite. It will instantly provide you with a fully SEO optimized web presence solution and you will be able to update business information such as hours and categories, respond to reviews, share updates with followers, and so much more.

See a free demo

Take BirdEye for a ride and see for yourself, instantly, how your business appears online using the Birdeye intelligence engine.

Write a review

(760) 320-0771

Write a review

5on Trip Advisor, Apr 19, 2017
The Willows Inn is a real home. A romantic and high minded house set into the hillside of Palm Springs. Everything is low in Palm Springs flat, the Willows sits upright and even has a second level! It goes up and up and a rock lined path will take you on a short walk higher. There you will find the running water source of the incredible man made waterfall that is the Inn's grandest feature. There is a bench up there and you can sit and look out so high over everyone else and you see why this site, this property was chosen for such a grand house. Far below you is where he original pool was, it is now the parking garage of the museum but imagine how big this property was when you bathed down in the parking lot and then walked your way up to your home. Einstein stayed here and sat a lot on a different bench- the one that's lower down as you just start up the path- he thought up some great stuff there. I contemplated dinners. The Willows was up until the 1950's the highest residence in Palm Springs. It sits down a lane two blocks away from the main Drag but it feels as if it's in a different country. Complete relaxation absorbs you and as you key yourself in the gate, you think how nice it would be to live away from the madness ... yet so close. Breakfast is memorable here at the Willows: fresh juice and a silver pot of coffee at your table. The baker has been working there for twenty plus years and she is fantastic-- the muffins ans scones are top notch. Fruit and eggs gets you on your way... to the pool area! It's hard to leave the Willows when the pool area is so quiet. In finding this hotel I searched for " Palm springs Inns, Hotels with Pools others cannot use " and that's what we have here: no guests are allowed in the Willows so the pool is for just you and usually one other couple. Only eight rooms in the Willows total and each is unique; we stayed in The Rock Room and were very happy with it's door that opens onto the pool. The Rock room has an extra pull out bed so if you are traveling with one well behaved child this is the room for you. Loraine, Harmony, Gordon, AJ and crew will give you A+ service. Each day your breakfast will be in a gorgeous room facing a rock wall and waterfall, humming birds, the smell of honeysuckle everywhere . Intoxicating. In the early evening two glasses of wine and some small plates is a nice way to unwind. You are in Palm Springs yet you are not. Do not miss this Inn.-Largeman more »
5on Trip Advisor, Apr 12, 2017
We spent five nights at "The Willows" and could not have been more pleased with our choice of lodging. Our room was beautiful and spotless, breakfast delicious, coffee great, downtown location perfect, staff wonderful, evening wine and appetizers tasty. In other words, I have nothing but great things to say about this little gem in the desert. A thank you to Gordon and AJ and the rest of the staff for making our stay so comfortable. more »
5on Expedia, Apr 04, 2017
Lovely and hospitable European style inn. Service was particularly personal. Highly recommend. more »
5on Trip Advisor, Mar 29, 2017
We could have stayed here forever! Everyone was so friendly and the room was perfectly clean. As this is an old house, one might expect some things to not be in order - but that was certainly not the case! Perfect rooms, bedding, cleanliness, landscaping and breakfast! All within walking distance of downtown Palm Springs (2 blocks). We had been coming to Palm Springs for many years and we are glad we found this place this time! more »
5on Trip Advisor, Mar 27, 2017
Beautiful setting. Great Breakfast. Walking distance to museums, restaurants. Relaxing and quiet. Appetizers in the early evening thoughtfully prepared, and a wonderful opportunity to meet with other guests and share ideas for future walks and events. more »
5on Trip Advisor, Mar 26, 2017
We have found a new favorite get-away spot! My husband and I stayed at The Willows for 2 nights to celebrate our anniversary and loved every minute. Everything from the luxury linens to the delicious breakfast is well thought out. The innkeepers do a wonderful job making you feel comfortable and relaxed...we never felt waited on, rather very well taken care of. It feels upscale but not at all pretentious.
We stayed in the Acanthus room. Small but clean, cozy, and stocked with everything needed for total comfort. There are stairs that lead up the mountain through property's gardens that made for a great morning cardio session (up and down a few times will get the heart rate up) with amazing views. We spent our days by the pool that was the perfect temperature for cooling off without being too cold. Harmony checked on us throughout the afternoon and brought complimentary water, lemonade, and iced tea as needed. The evening receptions were fun! The hors d'oeuvres were delicious and substantial and our wine glasses were never empty. Perfect before a late dinner out. Speaking of dinner, The Willows is within walking distance to several restaurants (which is especially convenient after the wine.) There is a sense of tranquility that you don't usually experience in hotels or resorts. Most of the time we felt as though we were staying at a friends home estate. The grounds are private and secluded even though it is so close to the main strip. I could go on and on about all the little things that make this place special. Needless to say, we loved our stay and plan to return!
more »
5on Trip Advisor, Mar 24, 2017
Wow - The Willows was the best B&B / best hotel we've ever stayed at! The property is beautiful and the staff provided for all of our needs. We'd like to give a special shout out to Gordon, who answered all of our questions and came to work every day with a great attitude and welcoming personality. Eating breakfast outside on the patio in front of the beautiful 50' waterfall was magical. The 3-course breakfasts were varied and delicious and so filling that we seldom ate lunch. The pool area offered a relaxing respite from the heat. The cocktail hour, with complementary wine and hors d'oeuvres, was a great way to mingle with the other guests and learn about their adventures and new restaurants to try. The location is perfect, within easy walking distance of downtown Palm Springs shopping and restaurants. The grounds are beautiful and provide great viewpoints overlooking the mountains and city. If you like hiking, the Museum Trail starts a short walk from the hotel. The Palm room was quiet and comfortable. Simply the Best Ever!! more »
5on Facebook, Mar 22, 2017
more »
5on Trip Advisor, Mar 21, 2017
The Willows has beautiful grounds, spacious rooms, heated pool/spa, and excellent service. They have evening snacks and wine and a multi-course breakfast in the morning. I would recommend The Willows to anyone wanting a relaxing environment and great location. more »
5on Trip Advisor, Mar 20, 2017
Prepare to be transported to another world....another era. There can be no place as relaxing in all of Southern California. I felt like an incognito 1950s movie star here. All is old-school and understatedly beautiful. The staff is incredibly polite and accommodating. We arrived late after the Indian Wells tennis tournament, but were given access to the jacuzzi near the pool and even brought a bottle of wine. The room was elegantly appointed down to the smallest detail. Breakfast served in a stunning setting outside. Quiet and charming. I could have stayed forever! more »
5on Google, Mar 14, 2017
A truly lovely experience. The staff of 13 couldn't have been nicer. A small eight room bed & breakfast location nestled in close proximity to the mountains of Palm Springs. Beautiful views and historical stories make this an enchanting place to stay. Total peace and quiet. A little pricey but well worth it. more »
5on Trip Advisor, Mar 12, 2017
I cannot say enough about The Willows. The Inn is exceptionally charming and comfortable. It is a great place to relax and enjoy the views. The breakfasts were out of this world and the dining setting is amazing. The Inn is nestled against the mountains and is right at the edge of town. The staff were all friendly and helpful. The wine reception each afternoon is a nice touch. We also enjoyed the pool and hot tub. We will return again to enjoy this small but charming inn. more »
5on Expedia, Mar 11, 2017
Amazing hotel experience!
We had a fantastic stay at Willows. The staff were incredibly nice, accommodating, easy going and personable. The place is small so it felt intimate and not impersonal.
The 3-course breakfast was delicious and changed everyday, and the room and pool were in great condition. One of the best hotel stays I've ever had! more »
5on Google, Mar 08, 2017
more »
5on Trip Advisor, Mar 04, 2017
Really loved this place! First visit and unfortunately they only had one night available. We were in the Einstein room. Great bed, croaking frogs, waterfall, and private balcony. Walking distance to town but super quiet and restful old and historic Inn. Delicious breakfast, all the staff were friendly and helpful. Definitely want to come back for a few more days next time! more »
5on Trip Advisor, Mar 01, 2017
The Willows is a historic house converted to an extremely pleasant eight bedroom inn. It's history is really interesting - Albert Einstein, Marion Davis, and Clark Gable and Carole Lombard stayed for extended periods of time. The history, however, wouldn't mean anything if the inn wasn't a wonderful place to stay, and it is. The bedrooms are comfortable, there are multiple outdoor terraces to sit and read, a fire burns in the living room and there's a very nice pool and hot tub. It's not a generic, cookie cutter place to stay and you won't find huge bathrooms with double sinks and marble walls, but if you like a sense of place and individuality, it's great. A delicious breakfast is included and served overlooking the waterfall, and wine and hors d'oeuvres with the other guests every evening is fun. Gordon the manager is terrifically helpful and the rest of the staff couldn't be nicer. It's in a very quiet area, but you can walk to some of the best restaurants in town, the Palm Springs Art Museum and the main shopping area. more »
5on Trip Advisor, Feb 27, 2017
My husband and I spent two nights at the Willows and had a very enjoyable getaway. The rooms are nicely equipped with everything you would expect to find, the pool is perfect for catching some sun or taking a quick dip, and the views around the property are gorgeous! The location is great - you are tucked away enough to feel like you have plenty of privacy, but are still within easy walking distance of downtown and much of the shopping & attractions available there. The staff were exceptionally kind and helpful, and the fact that the property & parking were gated made us feel very safe and secure. When booking our stay we were concerned that the price was a bit steep (at least by our midwest standards), but we were pleasantly surprised to find out just how much is included in that cost - a three course breakfast, wine & hors d'oeuvres every evening, non-alcoholic beverages in the rooms & by the pool, small snacks in the room throughout our stay, access to the hillside garden area - most were little things, but they really added up to making a very enjoyable stay. We would definitely recommend a stay at the Willows to anyone visiting the Palm Springs area! more »
5on Review My Stay, Feb 20, 2017
Wonderful breakfast and top-notch service. The wine hour was a pleasant surprise. more »
5on Expedia, Feb 14, 2017
The most wonderful.place ever
Pros: Location people rooms food
Cons: Not one thing
Location: Everything is within walking distance here perfect
The staff service food out of th
is world would rate 10 more »
5on Trip Advisor, Feb 12, 2017
Highly recommend this historic house. Complimentary drinks and canapés at dusk set the scene for a wonderful night stay. Rooms are all unique, with quality toiletries, bath robes, pool and spa, complimentary mini bar, and comfy beds (double). French restaurant across the road was superb - book early. Short walk to Main Street. We were here in winter but it would be superb when bougainvilleas are blooming.
Breakfast included and very nice. Staff were very welcoming.
Highly recommended for a special stay.
more »
5on Trip Advisor, Feb 08, 2017
This was our second stay at the Willows and our second time in the Library Room. It is just a wonderful place staffed by wonderful people that treat you like royalty! The resort has a fascinating history in Palm Springs that we enjoyed reading about again and imagining what it would have been like to have been here in early times.
The breakfasts are excellent and the presentation, pace, and service made it a perfect start for our days in Palm Springs. Evening wine and appetizers were equally enjoyable., It was fun to find out about the adventures of the other guests as we sat in the living room by the fireplace.
There is a nice short walking trail up the slope behind the rooms that provides scenic overlooks and places to sit and just gaze at the sites surrounding the resort.
The resort is within walking distance to museum, downtown, restaurants and beautiful neighborhoods which we enjoyed exploring.
more »
5on Trip Advisor, Jan 30, 2017
Despite its central location (right next to the Art Museum!), this gracious home, tucked into the hills felt like a place apart in time and space. Calming & comforting setting, wonderful breakfasts (with great background music), gracious unwinding wine time, lovely vistas, and within walking distance of downtown amenities, the Willows is a place to which I will return. more »
5on Review My Stay, Jan 27, 2017
Excellent service and hospitality as always! more »
5on Trip Advisor, Jan 20, 2017
We had a delightful stay for my birthday recently. Stayed a long weekend. Location perfect...just a block or two in from the main boulevard and right next door to the Palm Springs Museum. Staff were warm and friendly and very unobtrusive. Grounds and main area were clean and cozy and well kept. Breakfasts were good, loved the 5:30 reception with wine and nibbles. We got to hang out and chat with the other guests who were staying there, in a very relaxed and naturally friendly setting. Fireplaces, waterfall, path to top of hill all added nice touches to our stay. Parking was easy, just pull into gated lot. Stayed in Waterfall Room, right above kitchen and you will smell the bacon in the morning. Very comfortable, Wi-Fi signal great- we streamed a movie on our iPad. Great view of waterfall wall.
Thank you, and we will be back!
more »
5on Expedia, Jan 18, 2017
Elegant, plush small inn in a converted mansion
Pros: The dining room had floor to ceiling class doors and faces a rock water fall and garden, which I enjoyed watching during breakfast. I liked
everything
Location: A top rated French restaurant is right across the street. The Palm Springs Art Museum is around the corner, a good very good museum, not be missed.
It's vey private and elegant, The breakfasts are wonderful--three courses: fruit, homemade muffins or scones, and a delicious, beautifully presented main course, The staff is very responsive, thoughtful, and attentive without seeming to hover.The rooms are tastefully furnished and very comfortable. Lovely robes are provided, Beds are turned down at night with a chocolate for each; the linens are top of the line. Tea and coffee will be brought to your room, 24/7, upon respect.

Although my husband and I live in Palm Springs, we choose to come here for our anniversary and felt we we truly away.
more »

Contact

Edit
412 W Tahquitz Canyon Way, Palm Springs, CA 92262
Bed & Breakfast
Today 6:00 am - 5:30 am

Is this your business?

You can claim this profile as a part of the BirdEye suite. It will instantly provide you with a fully SEO optimized web presence solution and you will be able to update business information such as hours and categories, respond to reviews, share updates with followers, and so much more.

See a free demo

Take BirdEye for a ride and see for yourself, instantly, how your business appears online using the Birdeye intelligence engine.

About

Edit
Specialties
Make a break from the ordinary and experience the Willows, the only 4 Diamond property in Palm Springs. A stay at the Willows pampers guests with complimentary services such as a gourmet three course breakfast served overlooking the 50 foot waterfall, wi-fi, gated parking and an evening wine and hors d'oeuvres reception.
This private and romantic boutique hotel, once the winter retreat of a 1920s millionaire, welcomed the likes of Einstein and Gable among others. After a thoughtful restoration, the property was returned to its original elegance while incorporating every modern convenience. Rooms feature fine linens and antiques, private baths, cable television, DVD players, and some offer a private patio or fireplace.
The house, gardens and pool are open only to registered guests ensuring the ultimate in privacy and repose. The Willows offers a secluded and romantic getaway in a luxurious and elegant setting for a vacation holiday you will long remember so book your stay now!
History
Established in 1994.
Located in one of the most historic buildings in Palm Springs, The Willows has been meticulously restored to its previous elegance and grandeur. The home has hosted many luminaries and celebrities since it was built in 1924, including Shirley Temple, Clark Gable, Carole Lombard, Marion Davies, Joseph Kennedy and Albert Einstein. Lots of current movie stars too, but we shouldn't say! The Willows is the only four diamond accommodation in Palm Springs. Luxury and understated elegance in an historic home.
more »

Is this your business?

You can claim this profile as a part of the BirdEye suite. It will instantly provide you with a fully SEO optimized web presence solution and you will be able to update business information such as hours and categories, respond to reviews, share updates with followers, and so much more.

See a free demo

Take BirdEye for a ride and see for yourself, instantly, how your business appears online using the Birdeye intelligence engine.

Review summary

5  267
4  20
3  2
2  
1  
4.9
289 reviews
Check Availability