Willows Historic Palm Springs Inn | Bed & Breakfast at 412 W Tahquitz Canyon Way - Palm Springs CA - Reviews - Photos - Phone Number
Edit

Willows Historic Palm Springs Inn

4.9
310 reviews
(Bed & Breakfast)
 412 W Tahquitz Canyon Way, Palm Springs, CA 92262US

Write a review

(760) 320-0771

Write a review

5on Trip Advisor, Jan 10, 2018
A special place
Absolutely marvelous small hotel that is perfectly situated in the heart of Palm Springs right next to the art museum. Charming rooms. Worth every penny. Grounds are gorgeous, as
are the common areas. Room was quiet and beautifully appointed. A treat to stay at. more »
5on Facebook, Dec 20, 2017
Beautiful serene place to stay with a wonderful staff who cater to your every wish. Great wine and hors d’oeuvres , lovely breakfast in a gorgeous dinning room, beautiful grounds to explore and access to the jacuzzi and pool anytime day or night made this place our go to anytime we are in the area! My husband and I loved it!!!! more »
5on Trip Advisor, Dec 17, 2017
When it comes to luxury, Gordon and his people create a wonderful retreat. One can not stay at another location and absorb the nature, amenities and location without wanting to return. The Einstein room with its private patio was divine. Breakfast is wonderful as you also enjoy the outdoors within the luxury of the eating area. Now I am hoping the room's namesake rubs off on me! more »
5on Trip Advisor, Dec 17, 2017
Ambiance...ambiance, ambiance!
When it comes to luxury, Gordon and his people create a wonderful retreat. One can not stay at another location and absorb the nature, amenities and location witho
ut wanting to return. The Einstein room with its private patio was divine. Breakfast is wonderful as you also enjoy the outdoors within the luxury of the eating area. Now I am hoping the room's namesake rubs off on me! more »
5on Trip Advisor, Dec 08, 2017
We had an amazing stay. The inn keepers were very attentive and the food was delicious. The bed was super comfy. Beautiful grounds! Great location. Cool uniqueness like Einstein's room, bench, etc. Great views. Quiet pool and spa. more »
5on Trip Advisor, Nov 01, 2017
Stayed last May in the Einstein Room for two nights. The whole feel of the place is relaxed and old world charm. Breakfast is a unique experience with the waterfall and wildlife. Our room was spotless and had all mod cons. Complimentary wine and canopies
in the evening were delicious and complimented by the stunning views. Will definitely be returning next year
more »
5on Trip Advisor, Oct 28, 2017
Ended up at The Willows after a fiasco at The Riveria. There is nothing to say except: stay at The Willows. In the heart of Palm Springs. 8 rooms. Old restored inn. Brilliant and unassuming staff. Elegant. Class. Great pool. Quiet. The included wine hour each night and made from scratch non-corporate breakfast each morning just added to the experience. We stayed in the Marion Davies room, which was splendid. Made some friends and saw two of the other rooms. Smaller than ours but quite nice. Cannot recommend this place enough if you are looking for elegance and peace. more »
5on Trip Advisor, Oct 23, 2017
This Mediterranean-style villa set against golden mountains creates the lovely illusion that you're staying with a wealthy friend in 1930s Palm Springs. In fact, this was once a private home, hosting royalty, a U.S. President, Nobel Prize winners, and honeymooners Clark Gable and Carole Lombard.
When we spent the night in the Einstein Room (he was a frequent guest), I felt I woke up brighter . . . a genius, even. We've also stayed in the lovely Marion Davis Room, with a balcony overlooking the swimming pool and mountains.
Service is not only five-star but genuinely personal and friendly. Guests in the eight rooms can mingle and chat over evening wine and appetizers (served beside the fireplace in winter). A truly gourmet breakfast, varied each day, is served beside a 50-foot waterfall tumbling behind the villa. The gardens are filled with palms and flowering vines.
It's an easy walk to the adjacent art museum and the main shopping/dining avenue of Palm Springs.
This is one of the few perfect places I've stayed (and I'm luck enough to be a travel writer, so that's a lot of places). Highly recommended.
more »
5on Facebook, Oct 09, 2017
While I did not stay at this gorgeous vintage Historic Hotel it's tucked against the mountain and Central Palm Springs walking distance to great restaurants shops it has a fabulous pool and gorgeous view as it's situated a little high on the mountain I understand the owners are doctors in the area and from what I saw she has meticulously decorated this beautiful hotel I know little history of it built by Hearst for a mistress it would be a dream to stay in this hotel as an architect I truly appreciate the design of this place in the quaintness in the romantic character of it I hope someday to do that we went to a charity event there and they opened their grounds for that event how very nice of them I heard anybody going to Palm Springs to stay at this wonderful wonderful in its very Boutique so to speak but also mostly very very private more »
5on Google, Jun 16, 2017
more »
5on Google, Jun 08, 2017
more »
5on Trip Advisor, May 23, 2017
Found The Willows after researching the perfect spot for our 20th anniversary. And wow, was it perfect. Charming old home turned guest house in the lovely Tennis Club area of the town - walking distance to Palm Canyon but just far enough away from the hustle. Quiet, private, welcoming, personal - felt like we were stepping into the home of a friend. The innkeepers were so incredibly pleasant, friendly and helpful - there when you needed them but politely discreet. We stayed in the Loft - steep stairs up from the main floor that rewarded with an incredible view/sound of the waterfall...felt like a desert treehouse with the views of the surrounding hills. Beautifully furnished in antiques - cozy, homey and very old Hollywood. The breakfast is not to be missed - inventive meals in the most lovely setting. An elegant gracious home away from home...and one that you will wish you could take up permanent residence in. Couldn't have loved it more, a truly special and a one of a kind destination! We've stayed at a lot of lovely places but this was unexpected and absolute tops. more »
5on Facebook, May 19, 2017
Amazing experience from George and the amazing team there. Great breakfast, rooms, hell they have a waterfall!!
A hidden gem with a few rooms to have an intimate, relaxing vacation.
#missT
heWillowAlready it's only been 10 hours... more »
5on Trip Advisor, May 16, 2017
Nice room, gorgeous upstairs porch looking straight at the mountains. Three course breakfast in the dining room, with waterfall right outside. Beautiful home, nice living room, great happy hour, pleasant pool and spa. Right next door to the Art Museum, and a block from downtown. Couldn't be better. more »
5on Google, May 15, 2017
more »
5on Facebook, May 14, 2017
more »
5on Review My Stay, May 07, 2017
As always the personnel touch is evident throughout the stay.
I had just had a hospital stay and needed a completely relaxing experience.
Everything was perfect from the special considerat
ion for breakfast to booking the Vallauris when it was totally impossible.
It is our home away from home!
more »
5on Trip Advisor, May 02, 2017
It seems like we have been going to this wonderful place every year to celebrate our anniversary. The Willows is gorgeous.Our room, the Einstein room, was lovely with a small private patio There is always plenty of space for your belongings. There are thoughtful touches like packages of goodies to snack on. The staff is wonderful. They know us by name and are always there to help. The location is good ,too-very close to the Palm Springs Art Museum and about 2 blocks from the main drag where there are many good restaurants and good shopping opportunities. For a restful, comfortable getaway, I would highly recommend the Willows. more »
5on Google, Apr 29, 2017
Great hotel pool and spa are wonderful and the breakfast is devine . It is one of my favorites and each time I stay here I just can't wait to come back more »
5on Trip Advisor, Apr 27, 2017
The property is stunning warm, welcoming. Rooms are beautiful and very comfortable. Everyone is very accommodating, kind and helpful. The afternoon wine and hors d'oeuvres is fabulous. Beautiful porch to sit and enjoy the scenery and wine in late afternoon. Will come back again!! more »
5on Expedia, Apr 25, 2017
A luxury private hideaway.
Pros: The staff are wonderful, Melody, Lorraine and Gordon ensure your really taken care of. Joan's cooking is amazing, the breakfast is wonderful.
Cons: Th
e staff keep on top of everything so I can't think of anything that could be improved. Beware of uneven stairs and paths but it adds to the charm.
Location: A short walk to downtown Palm Springs and all the restaurants and bars you might need, nice quaint shopping too.
This was a return visit for us, we stayed here last year and loved it so much we just had to return.
We chose a different room this time, it's my ambition to stay in all 8 eventually.
more »
5on Trip Advisor, Apr 19, 2017
The Willows Inn is a real home. A romantic and high minded house set into the hillside of Palm Springs. Everything is low in Palm Springs flat, the Willows sits upright and even has a second level! It goes up and up and a rock lined path will take you on a short walk higher. There you will find the running water source of the incredible man made waterfall that is the Inn's grandest feature. There is a bench up there and you can sit and look out so high over everyone else and you see why this site, this property was chosen for such a grand house. Far below you is where he original pool was, it is now the parking garage of the museum but imagine how big this property was when you bathed down in the parking lot and then walked your way up to your home. Einstein stayed here and sat a lot on a different bench- the one that's lower down as you just start up the path- he thought up some great stuff there. I contemplated dinners. The Willows was up until the 1950's the highest residence in Palm Springs. It sits down a lane two blocks away from the main Drag but it feels as if it's in a different country. Complete relaxation absorbs you and as you key yourself in the gate, you think how nice it would be to live away from the madness ... yet so close. Breakfast is memorable here at the Willows: fresh juice and a silver pot of coffee at your table. The baker has been working there for twenty plus years and she is fantastic-- the muffins ans scones are top notch. Fruit and eggs gets you on your way... to the pool area! It's hard to leave the Willows when the pool area is so quiet. In finding this hotel I searched for " Palm springs Inns, Hotels with Pools others cannot use " and that's what we have here: no guests are allowed in the Willows so the pool is for just you and usually one other couple. Only eight rooms in the Willows total and each is unique; we stayed in The Rock Room and were very happy with it's door that opens onto the pool. The Rock room has an extra pull out bed so if you are traveling with one well behaved child this is the room for you. Loraine, Harmony, Gordon, AJ and crew will give you A+ service. Each day your breakfast will be in a gorgeous room facing a rock wall and waterfall, humming birds, the smell of honeysuckle everywhere . Intoxicating. In the early evening two glasses of wine and some small plates is a nice way to unwind. You are in Palm Springs yet you are not. Do not miss this Inn.-Largeman more »
5on Trip Advisor, Apr 12, 2017
We spent five nights at "The Willows" and could not have been more pleased with our choice of lodging. Our room was beautiful and spotless, breakfast delicious, coffee great, downtown location perfect, staff wonderful, evening wine and appetizers tasty. In other words, I have nothing but great things to say about this little gem in the desert. A thank you to Gordon and AJ and the rest of the staff for making our stay so comfortable. more »
5on Expedia, Apr 04, 2017
Lovely and hospitable European style inn. Service was particularly personal. Highly recommend. more »
5on Trip Advisor, Mar 29, 2017
We could have stayed here forever! Everyone was so friendly and the room was perfectly clean. As this is an old house, one might expect some things to not be in order - but that was certainly not the case! Perfect rooms, bedding, cleanliness, landscaping and breakfast! All within walking distance of downtown Palm Springs (2 blocks). We had been coming to Palm Springs for many years and we are glad we found this place this time! more »
Page 1 of 13

Contact

Edit
412 W Tahquitz Canyon Way, Palm Springs, CA 92262
Bed & Breakfast
Today 6:00 am - 5:30 am

About

Edit
Specialties
Make a break from the ordinary and experience the Willows, the only 4 Diamond property in Palm Springs. A stay at the Willows pampers guests with complimentary services such as a gourmet three course breakfast served overlooking the 50 foot waterfall, wi-fi, gated parking and an evening wine and hors d'oeuvres reception.
This private and romantic boutique hotel, once the winter retreat of a 1920s millionaire, welcomed the likes of Einstein and Gable among others. After a thoughtful restoration, the property was returned to its original elegance while incorporating every modern convenience. Rooms feature fine linens and antiques, private baths, cable television, DVD players, and some offer a private patio or fireplace.
The house, gardens and pool are open only to registered guests ensuring the ultimate in privacy and repose. The Willows offers a secluded and romantic getaway in a luxurious and elegant setting for a vacation holiday you will long remember so book your stay now!
History
Established in 1994.
Located in one of the most historic buildings in Palm Springs, The Willows has been meticulously restored to its previous elegance and grandeur. The home has hosted many luminaries and celebrities since it was built in 1924, including Shirley Temple, Clark Gable, Carole Lombard, Marion Davies, Joseph Kennedy and Albert Einstein. Lots of current movie stars too, but we shouldn't say! The Willows is the only four diamond accommodation in Palm Springs. Luxury and understated elegance in an historic home.
more »

Review summary

5  288
4  20
3  2
2  
1  
4.9
310 reviews
Check Availability